Cost and Penalties of DUIs

Cost and Penalties of DUIs

Arizona is known for some of the harshest DUI and OUI laws in the country, and these cases are among the most aggressively prosecuted in the State. If convicted, you are likely facing loss of your driver's license, fines, and jail time.

The legal limit to drive in Arizona without facing a DUI charge is .08 blood alcohol content (BAC) or below. At .08 or above you will be considered driving under the influence, but even if you are under a .08 and within that safe range, you can still face a DUI charge if somehow alcohol or other drugs impaired your abilities to drive in a slightest degree. For example, if you're involved in an accident after having a couple drinks, you can still be charged with a DUI, even if your blood alcohol content is below that legal limit of .08.

The below table lists the types of penalties and charges for DUIs in Arizona. If you've had a DUI in the last 7 years, the sentence, fines, and penalties may increase substantially.

CHARGE: 1 st Time DUI* CHARGE: 1 st Extreme DUI* CHARGE: Super 1 st Extreme DUI*
BAC: .08 to .15 – or impaired to the slightest degree BAC: .15 to .20 BAC: .20 or above
Sentence: up to 6 months jail (minimum 10 days – possible suspension of up to 9 days with completion of alcohol/substance abuse screening and counseling) Sentence: up to 6 months jail (minimum 30 days -- possible suspension of up to 21 days with installation of ignition interlock device prior to sentencing). May be eligible for work release after first 48 hours in jail. May be eligible for Continuous Alcohol Monitoring or Home Detention after serving initial 20% of sentence. Sentence: up to 6 months jail (minimum 45 days -- possible suspension of up to 31 days with installation of ignition interlock device prior to sentencing). May be eligible for work release after first 48 hours in jail. May be eligible for Continuous Alcohol Monitoring or Home Detention after serving initial 20% of sentence.

Fines: $250.00 to $2,500

PLUS:

  • Surcharge: 84% of fine
  • $500 Prison Fund
  • $500 Public Safety Fund
  • $over 130/day jail cost (approx)
  • Up to $over 130 in other fines

Fines: $250.00 to $2,500

PLUS:

  • Surcharge: 84% of fine
  • $1000 Prison Fund
  • $1000 Public Safety Fund
  • $250 DUI abatement fee
  • $over 130/day jail costs (approx)
  • Up to $over 130 in other miscellaneous fines

Fines: $500.00 to $2,500

PLUS:

  • Surcharge: 84% of fine
  • $1000 Prison Fund
  • $1000 Public Safety Fund
  • $250 DUI abatement fee
  • $over 130/day jail costs (approx)
  • Up to $over 130 in other miscellaneous fines

Penalties:

  • 90 days license suspension. May apply for restricted license after first 30 days. (If DUI/Drugs, then 1 year license revocation, but can possibly eliminate the interlock ignition requirement)
  • Alcohol/Drug Screening and Classes
  • 1 year ignition interlock device + fees (can be reduced to 6 months with continuous alcohol monitoring)
  • Up to 5 years probation
  • Possible SR-22 Insurance

Penalties:

  • 90 days license suspension. May apply for restricted license after first 30 days
  • Alcohol/Drug Screening and Classes
  • 1 year ignition interlock device + fees
  • Possible community service
  • Possible SR-22 Insurance

Penalties:

  • Up to 90 days license suspension. May apply for restricted license after first 30 days
  • 1 year ignition interlock device + fees
  • Possible 5 year probation
  • Alcohol/Drug Screening and Classes
  • Possible community service
  • Possible SR-22 Insurance

If you have been stopped and arrested for any type of DUI during the Fourth of July weekend, call Owens and Perkins, at 480.994.8824, to schedule a complimentary ½ hour consultation.

Categories: Criminal Defense

Contact Us

Start on your case today. Begin right now at no cost to you.

By clicking here you acknowledge that submitting your information to Owens & Perkins, P.C. does NOT establish an attorney-client relationship. A conflict check must be run prior to you communicating with one of our attorneys.