Regular V Extreme Dui in Az

Regular V Extreme Dui in Az

“Regular” DUI in AZ (impaired to the slightest degree or a blood alcohol content (“BAC”) level over .08%)

The punishment for your first conviction of a misdemeanor “regular” DUI in AZ is a minimum of at least 10 days in jail with a maximum of up to six months. Of those 10 days, nine days can be suspended upon successful completion of mandatory alcohol screening and classes. There is a minimum fine and surcharge of approximately $1,500, not including mandatory assessments. The MVD will suspend your license for at least 90 days, and require you to get an ignition interlock device on your car for at least six months. This cost can range from $80 to $120 per month, including a monthly maintenance charge.

“Extreme” DUI in AZ (BAC level .15% to .19%)

Arizona has the lowest limit for an extreme DUI at 0.15%. If you are convicted of Extreme DUI in AZ, you automatically face at least 30 days in jail. The good news is that under the most recent changes to Arizona’s DUI law, you may be eligible to have up to 21 of those jail days suspended by the court if you agree to place an ignition interlock device on your car prior to sentencing. However, some courts are refusing to suspend those jail days because the court cannot monitor the interlock device requirement. Also, some courts will allow you to do “home detention” for part of your jail sentence, under certain circumstances. Some judges are very generous with home detention time, while other judges are not. You will need to consult with an experienced AZ DUI attorney regarding these issues as you may be facing a wide range of consequences for an Extreme DUI in AZ. In addition to jail time and the ignition interlock device, there is a minimum fine and surcharge of approximately $2,500 and the MVD will suspend your license for at least 90 days.

Although the minimum punishment for Extreme DUI in AZ is 30 days in jail, you may be able to get work release during your jail time for a maximum of 72 hours (or six days) a week. Work release allows you to be released in the morning for a 12 hour period to go to work and/or school with a return to the jail each night. This must be ordered by the judge at sentencing and it is not always given. Please speak with your attorney regarding this possibility.

Categories: Criminal Defense

Contact Us

By clicking here you acknowledge that submitting your information to Owens & Perkins, P.C. does NOT establish an attorney-client relationship. A conflict check must be run prior to you communicating with one of our attorneys.